Site icon Puerto Vallarta News

Mexico states along U.S. Border observe Daylight Savings tonight

Tonight northern states in Mexico will set their clocks forward for Daylight Savings, while the rest of the country will wait until April 3.

Mexican States bordering the United States observe Daylight Savings on the same schedule as the U.S. for those who cross the border for work, business, commerce, and education each day.

The 33 municipalities that make up the border are Tijuana, Mexicali, Ensenada, Tecate and Rosarito Beach in Baja California; Juarez, Ojinaga, Ascension, Coyame of Sotol, Guadalupe, Janos, Manuel Benavides and Praxedis G. Guerrero, Chihuahua, and Acuna, Piedras Negras, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jimenez, Zaragoza, Nava and Ocampo, Coahuila.

Also Anahuac and Los Aldama, Nuevo Leon; Nuevo Laredo, Reynosa, Matamoros, Camargo, Guerrero, Gustavo Diaz Ordaz, Mier, Miguel Aleman, Rio Bravo and Valle Hermoso, Tamaulipas.

Receive the PVDN morning newsletter, exclusive content, and Whatsapp messaging for emergency alerts, by becoming a PVDN Supporter, learn more here, Or you can support local media with a one-time donation here

The rest of the country, including Puerto Vallarta and the State of Jalisco, will wait until April 3 to set their clocks forward. The only exception is the State of Sonora and Quintana Roo where Daylight Savings isn’t observed.

Daylight Savings Time advances clocks by one hour during part of the year to provide more sunlight during the day, with the aim of reducing energy consumption, mainly used in lighting, according to the Energy Secretariat.


(Corrected to include Quintana Roo as a state that does not observe DST)