Puerto Vallarta recognizes local tourism industry leaders at Gala

Thanks to tourism, Puerto Vallarta is a name recognized worldwide that is unmatched, where it combines the beautiful and the good, and that is why the municipality thanks those who have contributed to the destination’s successes during the International Tourism Day Gala Dinner.

In the event held at the Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel, the general secretary of the City Council, Victor Bernal Vargas, in the name of Mayor Arturo Dávalos Peña addressed those people involved in the tourism industry. “At this time it is an honor to be part of the tourism industry of Puerto Vallarta, and above all, it is always important to recognize its work. We have this tourist destination thanks to the work that has been done for many years, a destination that must be reinvented constantly as it evolves. Today we live a very important moment and we need to continue working hand in hand,” he stressed.

The municipal tourism director, Ramón González Lomelí, stressed “the importance of being responsible with the viability of the environment by carrying out a tourism based on the sustainability of the resources of the environment that surrounds us”.

He also recognized those, who for their tourist trajectory, have strongly marked the history of Puerto Vallarta, as well as two great artists who have supported the area with their work and marketing of the destination.

The president of the Tourism Trust, Alvaro Garcíarce Monraz, stressed that this event reflected the unity of the tourism sector of Puerto Vallarta and asked the special guests to be “ambassadors of the destination.”

The awards were given to the “Honorable Visitor”, to the executives of the wholesale agencies that generate greater volume of national tourism for the destination: Gabriel Bojórquez, CEO of Magnicharters; Jorge Benavides of Record Vacations; Alonso Yerena Zambrano, general director of Maturleón, and William Araujo Carrillo, general director of the Tour System Tour Operator.

Ricardo Verdayes Robles (hotelier), Evangelina Sánchez Dueñas (restaurateur), Consuelo Elipe and Carlos Elizondo (gastronomic tourism), Juanita Correa Reyes (tourist development) and Ludwig Estrada Virgen (education), Carlos Arceo (medical tourism), Antonio Alvarado Rubio (air tourism), Saúl López Orozco (water tourism), Gary Green and Tim Longpre (tourism LGBTTTI), Miguel Fregoso and Miguel Pulido (adventure tourism), Martín Almadez (cultural tourism).

To the sculptor and painter Carlos Terrés, author of the exhibition of sculptures with the themes “Tequila” and “Charrería”, installed in the park Hidalgo, as well as the artist Irma Herrera, who donated $80,000 pesos in which he sold a painting for those affected by the recent disasters in our country.

The “Special Tourist Merit” was awarded to Norma Furlong and Rubén Miller. Also present were the artist Filippa Giordano, the general secretary of the CTM in Jalisco, Rafael Yerena Zambrano, the regents Susana Rodríguez Mejía and Eduardo Martínez Martínez, among others

Puerto Vallarta News