Site icon Puerto Vallarta News

II Mexi Log Fest hits the surf in Sayulita

Thanks to the success of the previous year’s event, the Sayulita surf will once again welcome the II Mexi Log Fest (MXLF) from February 19-21, 2016, reinforcing its status as the Surf Capital of the Riviera Nayarit. According to Israel Preciado, founder of MXLF, “the philosophy of the festival is to promote logging and leave behind something positive for the community.”

“We like to embrace a diversity of events,” said Marc Murphy, Managing Director of the Riviera Nayarit Convention and Visitors Bureau. “The Riviera Nayarit is a destination of game-changing events and this kind of retro surfing is something we enthusiastically support. We hope for a full beach of people enjoying themselves because it’s so worth it.”


This is a lifestyle surfing event: conscious, inclusive and a lot of fun, with the participation of the best proponents of the traditional longboard with an ecological and sustainable focus. There will be three days of surfing, music, art, shapers, surf clinics for kids and much more.

Log, or logging, also known as traditional longboarding, is the art of surfing with style, grace and precision on boards no shorter than nine feet long, without a leash and weighing over 12 pounds, with just one center keep at least nine inches in length. Basically, these are the same boards used back in the 60s.

There are 48 competitors—24 men and 24 women—and there will be two local invitees per category. The US$12,000 prize money will equally divided between men and women, an initiative of the MXLF never before seen in Mexico. A percentage of the registration fee will be donated to the community and the local surfing association.

Receive the PVDN morning newsletter, exclusive content, and Whatsapp messaging for emergency alerts, by becoming a PVDN Supporter, learn more here, Or you can support local media with a one-time donation here

Some of the male competitors include known names such as Alex Knost, JJ. Wessels, Corey Colapinto, Harley Ingleby, CJ Nelson, Harrison Roach, Mikey DeTemple, Mick Rodgers, James Parry, Caio Texeira and Ryan Burch.

Female competitors include Justne Mauvin, Lola Mignot, Vanina Walsh, Mele Saili, Karina Rozunko, Chloe Calmon, Kassia Meador, Leah Dawson, Lauren Hill, Victoria Vergara, Honolua Blomfield, Josie Prendergast, Sierra Lerback and Stephanie Schechter.


For more details: Check out the 2015 competition here: