Site icon Puerto Vallarta News

U.S. State Department clarifies no travel warnings for Puerto Vallarta

The government of the United States issued an update of its travel alerts to Mexico, where it reported that the problems of violence continue in various parts of the country; however, it excluded the tourist zones from the violent zones.

In its report, the State Department specified that in the case of Quintana Roo, the restriction is removed to visit the destinations of Cancun, Cozumel, Playa del Carmen, Tulum and Riviera Maya.

In the same sense, the authority indicated that in the case of Baja California Sur there are no security problems to travel to Cabo San Lucas, San Jose del Cabo and La Paz.

The State Department reported that restrictions continue in Nayarit, excluding Riviera Nayarit, Santa MarĂ­a del Oro and Xalisco. Jalisco was reported, where there are no restrictions to visit Guadalajara, Puerto Vallarta, Chapala and Ajijic.

This travel alert replaces the one issued on August 22, 2017, where several tourist areas such as Cancun and Los Cabos had been included, because they were considered dangerous for US citizens.

For Mazatlan, the authority announced that only trips are permitted in the Golden Zone, the historic center of the city and direct routes to and from the airport or the cruise terminal.

Receive the PVDN morning newsletter, exclusive content, and Whatsapp messaging for emergency alerts, by becoming a PVDN Supporter, learn more here, Or you can support local media with a one-time donation here

In the case of Veracruz, they called on US employees and citizens to stay in the tourist areas.

One of the few tourist zones that continue to be banned from visiting is Acapulco, since it was reported that armed groups continue to operate in many areas.

Read full advisory: